nashvillenoob.blogg.se

Ultraviolence lana del rey album cover
Ultraviolence lana del rey album cover











ultraviolence lana del rey album cover

As my vinyl collection grew, I wanted to find a way to document my favourite records, so I combined these two passions into the blog you see before you. I studied for a BA and MA in Creative Writing, graduating with a first class with honours and commendation respectively. I started this blog as a way of maintaining a steady flow of writing between years at university. Hello! My name is Jack, and as you can see, I am a bit of a vinyl enthusiast.

ultraviolence lana del rey album cover

Her voice whines and she’s not afraid to go lots when the emotions in the songs reach their absolute peaks.įavourite tracks: Brooklyn Baby/Shades of Cool/West Coast The content may not be all that positive but when it comes down to their performance, the majority of them are excellent.

ULTRAVIOLENCE LANA DEL REY ALBUM COVER FULL

It’s full of songs that have a negative undertone, but don’t let that put you off. She’s getting out of the car and she’s in what could only be described as an apathetic mood. Until this year’s ‘Lust for Life’, Lana has never smiled on an album cover. The cover also sums up the dower mood of the album. A recurring theme in her songs of previous albums and albums since. There’s something of a love song here too. It’s moody and as the title would suggest, cool. You’ve got the 90s vibe in ‘West Coast’, the 50s beat in ‘Brooklyn Baby’ and a 70s shrill in ‘Shades of Cool’. What I find unique about the album is that it takes us through eras but doesn’t overstay its welcome. She loves jazz, she loves poetry, she loves her boyfriend “who’s in a band and plays guitar while she sings Lou Reed”. But, it’s also a somewhat unconventional love song. I can visualise it being performed in the basement room of a smoke filled club that’s usually occupied by poetry readings and jazz musicians. Then we move onto ‘Brooklyn Baby’, a guitar twinning homage to the New York music scene. It starts off with a reasonably steady pace and when the chorus arrives, it slows completely down, taking you into a new realm of the song. Lead single ‘West Coast’ screams California chic. Produced by Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys, it’s much more stripped back and organic and sticks to a similar beat aesthetic, rather than being a forced mash up of everything. My criticism with it comes from how over produced it is, especially in comparison to this next album ‘Ultraviolence’. Lana Del Rey’s debut (under this name) ‘Born to Die’ was a decent debut into a particular genre blending soft-core grunge, pop, rock and period sensitive undertones all into one. It was the sunniest I had seen it there, and it perfectly matched how lazy the record is and every time I listen to it, it takes me right back to that last sunny summer. There’s a cliff over looking the sea you can walk along and I made sure I did every day.

ultraviolence lana del rey album cover

At the time, I wasn’t really bothered about specifically going out to do stuff, I just wanted to wind down, relax and lie on the beach.

ultraviolence lana del rey album cover

Before I went to uni, I went with my family to Aberystwyth. It came out in the summer just before I started university, so naturally I was under a lot of pressure and nervous about how things were going to turn out. ​I often call ‘Ultraviolence’ my album of 2014.













Ultraviolence lana del rey album cover